Princess Therese of Bavaria Price 2019

May 20, 2019

The Princess Therese of Bavaria Prize this year will also be awarded to two scientists of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, Prof. Dr. med. Lena Daumann and Prof. Dr. med. Olivia Merkel.

On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the awarding of the honorary doctorate to the Wittelsbach researcher Princess Dr. h.c. Therese von Bayern, the "Princess Therese of Bavaria Foundation for the Advancement of Women in Science" was founded in 1997 at the Ludwig Maxilimian University of Munich. Among other things, the foundation pursues the goal of honoring outstanding women scientists from individual faculties with a special prize at regular intervals,  in order to support their motivation for a university career.

This time, doctoral candidates from the Faculties of Natural Sciences (faculties 16-20) will be awarded. There are a total of 60,000 € available. The amount of the price is 10,000 €.

According to the foundation charter, key selection criteria are above all extraordinary scientific achievements (preferably in a transdisciplinary research project) as well as academic career paths that can serve as role models for young female scientists.

Female scientists with a connection to one of the above-mentioned faculties were able to submit their application to the Dean's Office of the faculty, together with an assessment of their academic qualifications, by the end of June 2018.

At the first stage of the selection process, the faculties preselected or prioritized. At the second stage, the Foundation's Board of Trustees decided on the award, based on the proposals of the faculties and, if necessary, obtaining additional expert opinions.

The following women scientists will be awarded the princess Therese von Bayern Prize 2019:

Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics

  • Prof. Dr. Francesca Biagini
  • Prof. Dr. Sonja Greven

Faculty of Physics

  • Dr. Monika Aidelsburger

Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy

  • Prof. Dr. Lena Daumann
  • Prof. Dr. Olivia Merkel

Faculty of Biology

  • Prof. Dr. Kirsten Jung

The award ceremony will take place on 19 July 2019 in the Senate Hall of the LMU.

For the Board of Trustees: dr. Hadumod Bußmann, dr. Margit Weber

Further information can be obtained from the Office of the University Women's Representative

Further information: