Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker: Wolfgang Schnick receives Liebig commemorative coin

Sep 18, 2018

For his outstanding achievements in the field of inorganic chemistry, the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh) honors Professor Wolfgang Schnick with the Liebig commemorative coin.

Professor Wolfgang Schnick, who holds the Chair of Inorganic Solid State Chemistry at the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, receives the Liebig commemorative coin for his work in the synthesis of inorganic materials with p-block elements. "Schnicks research led beyond the disciplinary frontiers to far-reaching innovations in the field of fluorescent technology," the GDCh justified its decision. With the award, Schnick embarks on the company of prominent former winners, such as the Nobel Prize winners Adolf von Baeyer, Max Planck and Feodor Lynen.

Schnick has already been awarded the Otto Klung Prize of the Free University Berlin, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) and the Wilhelm Klemm Prize of the GDCh for his scientific achievements. In addition, he was elected to both the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and received a nomination for the German Future Prize, the Federal President's Prize for technology and innovation.

The Liebig commemorative coin has been awarded by the GDCh to important researchers since 1950. The award will be presented during a festive event within the framework of the gathering of German naturalists and doctors. The medal was named after the chemist Justus von Liebig. Liebig researched and taught until his death at the LMU, where among other things a lecture hall is named after him.

More about the research of Professor Schnick:

They do not shine in a cold white but pleasantly warm: Wolfgang Schnick creates chemical compounds that turn LEDs into the light sources of the future.